Atomic Scale Epitaxy

Atomic Scale Epitaxy Group  /  Prof. Tae Won Noh  

     The Atomic-Scale Epitaxy Group, led by Prof. Tae Won Noh, is the first group to be established within the IBS Center for Correlated Electron Systems. Our research group studies the physics of strongly correlated electron systems, focusing on the state-of-the-art epitaxial synthesis of transition-metal-oxide thin films. The atomic-scale fabrication of artificial heterostructures enables us to create arrangements that do not exist in bulk materials, providing new settings for the study of emergent phenomena. 

     We aim to obtain a comprehensive understanding of these artificial systems with the aid of numerous spectroscopy methods; including optical, terahertz pump-probe, and angle-resolved photoemission spectroscopy, as well as utilizing scanning probe microscopy. Unraveling the underlying mechanisms of strong correlation phenomena, and their possible manipulation may pave the way toward new functional devices for future practical applications, with the possibility of overcoming the current limitations of semiconductor electronics.

[Selected Publications]               

* Selective control of multiple ferroelectric switching pathways using a trailing flexoelectric field
* Charge-spin correlation in van der Waals antiferromagnet NiPS3
* Spectroscopic studies on metal-insulator transition mechanism in correlated materials
   Advanced Materials 30 , 1704777 (2018) 
* Spin-orbit coupling and interband transitions in the optical conductivity of Sr2RhO4  
   Physical Review Letters 119 , 267402 (2017)
* Electronic-reconstruction-enhanced tunneling conductance at terrace edges of ultrathin oxide films 
   Advanced Materials 29 , 1702001 (2017)
* Topotactic metal-insulator transition in epitaxial SrFeOx thin films 
   Advanced Materials 29 , 1606566 (2017)
* Controlled manipulation of oxygen vacancies using nanoscale flexoelectricity 
   Nature Communications 8 , 615 (2017)
* Two-magnon scattering in the 5d All-In-All-Out pyrochlore magnet Cd2Os2O7  
   Nature Communications 8 , 251 (2017)
* Interface Control of Ferroelectricity in an SrRuO3/BaTiO3/SrRuO3 Capacitor and its Critical Thickness